A new beginning for an old pro.

Just when I say I’m going to start blogging again I freeze up and can’t think of something to say to save my life. I thought it might be a good idea to just make myself write about something so that I could get back in the swing of things. I use to love blogging and stories would come to me in the middle of the night, in the shower, or while I was driving home from the grocery store. Not so much anymore. Well I WILL get something written out and in draft but then decide I was ranting about something stupid and not post it.

I thought I would try writing a blog everyday even if it’s just something the kids said or something that is sitting in my mind that I need to get out. Maybe then I will be inspired into greatness…or OUT of boredom.

Isabella Elizabeth was born on Dec. 15, 2009. She was only a week early. My labor went beautifully and as many of you know my labor with Rhett was my only real experience of what Hell may be like. I didn’t enjoy it, so this time around I was scared out of my mind with every contraction. When the anesthesiologist came in and whipped out his big ol’ needle I prayed harder than I had in a long time and sat as still as a child being pinched by their grandma in church. There was no way I was going to let the slightest movement on my part screw up this epidural. The doctor was finished before I could even explain to him what happened the last time. He was my new best friend.

I slept through the rest of my labor and Bella was born at 5:45pm. I was ready to go home that night, and if they had given me that option I would have jumped at the chance. There were other plans in store for me though. Since I have a negative RH factor (meaning my blood is O-) and Bella has positive RH factor there was a possibility that she would develop Jaundice. So in order to attack this issue before it got to astronomical levels, the Dr. went ahead and ordered a bilirubin count on her. It turned out that when the bilirubin count came back her white blood cell count was high as well prompting them to do a chest X-ray. The X-ray revealed cloudiness in her lungs meaning that she could possibly have an infection so she was started on antibiotics and put under the bili-light so her Jaundice would not spike. SO me wanting to go home the next day was now a distant dream. I sat with Bella, not being able to hold her, (except to nurse) in a cold hospital room (they were doing construction and the heat wasn’t working) from Tuesday to Saturday.
I was so glad to bring her home Saturday night. To be able to sleep in my own bed, and have my baby beside me was a dream coming true, besides the fact that I hadn’t seen my other children for 5 days.
Bella will be a month old on the 15th. I can’t believe it has been a month already. She is such a good baby. She sleeps at night getting up only to nurse and hardly ever cries. She is tolerant of her brothers, and is such a snuggle bunny.
As difficult as it was for me to accept that I was pregnant, it’s even harder for me to imagine what my life would be like without her in it. I never imagined that I would have a baby girl of my own. This is going to be a new beginning for me on so many levels. I hope I can keep track of everything.

3 thoughts on “A new beginning for an old pro.

    • Thank-you! It’s hard to get all the info out from a Blackberry, as I’m sure you know! We only have one more hurdle to jump with her and everything will be smooth sailing from there.

Leave a Reply

