One last hurdle.

When a baby is born they are screened for certain types of genetic, metabolic, hormonal, and functional disorders. All states screen for phenylketonuria (PKU), hypothyroidism, galactosemia, and sickle cell. These disorders are detected by a blood test. The baby’s heel is pricked to obtain a few drops of blood, and this test is usually done between 24 and 48 hours after birth.
All four of my children have had these blood tests, and 3 of them have had to have them repeated because of issues with the results. Most of the time the test came back normal and I had nothing else to be concerned about. The Doctors say that most of the time the first blood test was faulty, so they re-do the tests to make sure everything is normal.
Bella had to have the Hypothyroidism test redone. It wasn’t really a big deal to me being as Peyton and Rhett both had to have theirs repeated as well. However, when I got a call back from my pediatrician himself I grew a little anxious.
He told me her tests still came back abnormal. Hypothyroidism is when you don’t produce enough thyroid. Without thyroid you can’t grow correctly. A child with Hypothyroidism can have stunted growth as well as mental disabilities, if the condition is left untreated. SO her doctor put her on a medication that for now she takes everyday. Her pediatrician is currently getting her appointments set up with a pediatric endocrinologist. (In short this doctor works on treating children with problems with growth, puberty, diabetes, or other disorders related to the hormones and the glands that produce them.)

I won’t say that I’m not concerned, or that I am having sleepless nights over this. It is possible that her tests were still faulty and that everything is fine. It’s also possible
that this condition will correct itself over the next few months. I am still going to attack this head on to make sure that she is going to develop normally and be a happy healthy little girl.
So for now I’m going to hold my baby girl tight. I’m going to make sure she has the best doctors and that they are aggressive in making sure she is diagnosed properly. I will continue to pray and to believe that God is going to watch over my baby and trust that she is going to be fine.

If you would like to find out more information about Hypothyroidism in children, click the link below:
Hypothyroidism in Children

2 thoughts on “One last hurdle.

  1. I will keep her in my prayers.

    By everything that you wrote, you have the situation in focus and will be prepared to make all the correct decisions that you may face.

    xo

Leave a Reply

