Letters to Bella.

Dear Isabella,
I have waited for you for such a long time. You were a dream that I thought would never come true. When I found out you were going to be a precious little girl I couldn’t contain my happiness. Yet at the same time I was so afraid. Having three boys before you, I really had no idea what to expect with a girl. Boy was what I knew, and as much as I have yearned for a daughter I didn’t really know what I was getting myself into, but I was up for the challenge.
All throughout my pregnancy with you, I kept up hope that you were in fact a girl but I didn’t let myself really grasp hold of the idea until I could see you with my own eyes. I knew I loved you, and if you had decided to come into this world a boy I would have loved you just as much as I do this day. The biggest thing I didn’t let myself do was remove the tags from the clothes I bought for you. I mean while A girl can get away with wearing something blue, I don’t think your brothers would have let me put that cute pink dress on another baby boy.
I am excited to do all the things a mother does with her daughter. I can’t wait to braid your hair and paint your nails. I’m so excited about playing dress up and making you cute little ballerina tutus. I want to take you (one of these years) to pick out your first American Girl doll, and to see The Nutcracker at the Fox. I have so many plans for us. I want to see the sparkle in your eye when you watch Cinderella for the first time, and even more when you get to meet her in person. Oh the tea parties we will have and the memories we will create!
I will teach you to be a strong lady, and to love yourself. I want you to always feel like you are a beautiful person. To me you are the prettiest little lady in the world.
I promise to be for you the mother you deserve. I will strive everyday to be the mother for you that mine was not. I will tell you every day how much I love you and how you mean the world to me.
I’m already enjoying watching you wrap your Daddy around your finger. He is smitten with you. I love the way he loves you. Besides your Daddy, your brothers are head over heals as well. I have never seen three boys gush over a baby girl like they do.
You are the missing link our family was searching for. Our dreams came true when you came into this world. I hope we will always make you as happy as you have made us.

Love, Mommy

One thought on “Letters to Bella.

Leave a Reply

